2019 National Tax Colloquium: Unilorin Tax Club Honours Prof. Awodun and Others

The University of Ilorin Tax Club has honoured the Executive Chairman of the Kwara State Internal Revenue Service (KW-IRS), Professor Muritala Awodun, during her Annual National Tax Colloquium for his unflagging contribution and efforts in raising a generation of tax compliance citizens.

While receiving the award, Professor Awodun reiterated the importance of tax awareness among younger generation. The don who was represented by Mr. Temi Kolawole , Head of Corporate Affairs Department, KW-IRS, stated that the place of tax education, especially among students, in revenue mobilization cannot be over emphasized.

Mr. Olukunle Ogunbamowo from Deloitte Nigeria and Dr. Titilayo Fowokan were also awarded at the National Tax Colloquium that spanned for two days (21st -22nd, May) at the University of Ilorin, Faculty of Law.

The event with the Theme Taxation as an Economic Product:Achieving Comparative Advantage ended on a good note as the host institute, Unilorin, bagged the second position in the competition.  

The participating institutions include Obafemi Awolowo University, University of Ibadan and Lagos State University among others. Representatives from Deloitte, Dangote, Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (CITN), Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) and others were also in attendance to grace the occasion.

While delivering his opening remark, the Dean of Faculty of Law, represented by the HOD, Business Law, advised the students to make utmost use of their time on campus as they continue to be good ambassadors of their various institutions.

The first keynote lecture presentation themed: ‘Would the Nigerian Tax System be better as an Economic Product? Pitfalls of a Producer Mindset’ was delivered by Mrs. Oluwapelumi Adebisi who represented the CITN Registrar Mr. Fisayo Awogbade. She discussed at length the Nigeria Tax System which comprises the Tax Policy, Tax Legislature and Tax Administration; giving examples of Tax Legislatures such as Value Added Tax Act, Petroleum Profit Tax Act, Company Income Tax Act. She also talked over the principles of the Nigeria Tax System.

Mr. Olukunle Ogunbamowo, a partner in  Deloitte Nigeria, while delivering his keynote address on the topic ‘Creating a Top Notch Product: Lessons for the Nigerian Tax System’, spoke on the canons of taxation. He added that for a good tax system to be in place in Nigeria, Tax Policy, Tax Legislature and Tax Administration must be reviewed. “To improve the  tax system we also need to improve tax payers experience use technology and pay more attention to taxpayers’ education”, he added.

While delivering the third keynote address on “Finding the Best Tax Product: The Comparative Advantages of Kwara State”, the Executive Chairman of KW-IRS, represented by Mr Temi Kolawole, recounted the achievement of KW-IRS from inception in the year 2015 till date using the state of States reports. He also enumerated the premeditated efforts of the Service in mobilizing revenue for the strategic development of the State such as the ISO certification, the improved performance from N7.5 billion to N23billion, the Community Impact Programs which serve as a way of giving back to the people, the automation of processes to ease the modus operandi of the Service, etc.

The grand finale of the ‘Tax Think Tank Contest’ commenced after the presentations of awards. Obafemi Awolowo University and Lagos State University came 3rd , University of Ilorin, the defending champion. came 2nd while the prestigious University of Ibadan emerged the overall winner. The winners were awarded with a cash prize of N30,000, N50,000 and N70,000 respectively.

In his closing remark, the Tax Club President, Omotayo Jimoh appreciated the Corporate organisations and all participants for their supports towards the success of the event. He further appreciated various institutions for participating every year in the last three years.


There are no comments yet

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top