3rd Tax Club Quiz Competition: 46 Schools Qualify to the Quarter Final

The Preliminary Stage of The Annual Tax Club Quiz Competition (TCQC) organized by the Kwara State Internal Revenue Service (KW-IRS) in collaboration with the Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development ended in a grand style. Out of one hundred and twenty-eight (128)Senior Secondary Schools (private and public schools) that participated across the three senatorial districts, forty-six schoolsmade it to the quarter final of the competition.

At the Preliminary Stage, Muslim Model Secondary School amassed the total score of forty-two (42) points, which is the highest score at the preliminary stage from Kwara central, followed by Offa Grammar School with 41 points and Shepherd Grammar School had 32 points from Kwara North Senatorial District.

The Executive Chairman of Kwara State Internal Revenue Service (KW-IRS), DrMuritala Awodun paid a surprise visit on the final day of the Preliminary Stage heldon the 19th July, 2018 at Bishop Smith Memorial School, Ilorin. While addressing the contestants, he appreciated all the schools that participated in the competition and urged them to continue with tax sensitization in their various schools.

Dr Awodun stated that “Atthe end of the day, we are going to have a total number of 46 schools qualifying from all the three Senatorial Districts in Kwara State to the second round of the competition”. Statistically, a total number of 15, 14 and 17 schools qualified from Kwara South, North and Central respectively. The EC expounded on why there is uneven representations from all the Senatorial Districts – “You might be wondering why we have seventeen (17) slots for Kwara Central, this is because we have more schools and leagues in the Central than other Senatorial Districts in the state. In this competition, everybody is a winner because the essence of this competition is learn about tax and to be aware of the subject of taxation in Nigeria”Also, the EC urged every participant to spearhead Tax Clubs activities at their various schools.

The Executive Chairman asserted that additional tax club activities would be introduced in the budget of the Service in subsequent years starting from next year. The said the decision wasto ensure that tax club is not just for the competition but also for tax education and awareness, which will be achieved through various tax conferences, competitions, seminars and workshops across the sixteen Local Government Areas in Kwara State.

The following schools have qualified for the Quarter Final of the 2018 Tax Club Quiz Competition:

Kwara North

  1. Awonga High School, Shao
  2. Baptist Model High School, Kaiama
  3. Ecwa, Secondary School, Gure
  4. Government Day Secondary School, Shao
  5. Government Day Secondary School, Songa
  6. Government Secondary School, Jebba
  7. Government Secondary School, Kaiama
  8. Government Secondary School, Lafiagi
  9. Government Secondary School, Yashikira
  10. Islamiyah College, Patigi
  11. Kinti Community Secondary School, Ganagagi
  12. Lafiagi Secondary School, Lafiagi
  13. Muhammed Shaba Lafiagi Senior Secondary School, Lafiagi
  14. Shepherd Senior Secondary School

Kwara South

  1. Agbonna High School, Share
  2. Anglican Comprehensive College
  3. Ansarul-Islam Secondary School, Omu-Aran
  4. Arandun Grammar School
  5. Aran-Orin Comprehensive High School
  6. Community Senior Secondary School, Ganmo
  7. Government Day Secondary School, Ajasse-Ipo
  8. Idofian Grammar School
  9. IjaraIsin High School
  10. Iludun Oro Anglican Girls Secondary School
  11. Offa Grammar School
  12. Omupo Anglican Grammar School
  13. Oro Grammar School, Oro
  14. Oro Muslim High School, Oro
  15. Oyun Baptist High School, Ijagbo

Kwara Central

  1. Asa Local Government Secondary School, BudoEgba
  2. Asa Local Government Secondary School, Budo-Tuntun
  3. Asa Local Government Secondary School, Temidire
  4. College of Arabic and Islamic Studies
  5. Fortunate International College of Art and Science
  6. Glory Land College, Pipeline
  7. Government Girls Day Secondary School, Okesuna
  8. Government Girls Day Secondary School, Oko-Erin
  9. Government Secondary School, Ilorin
  10. Muslim Model Secondary School
  11. New Hope College, Sango
  12. Our Lady of Mount Carmel Private Secondary School, Oloje
  13. Queen Elizabeth School, Ilorin
  14. Sheik Abdulkadir College
  15. Socrates College
  16. St Anthony’s Senior Secondary School
  17. Total Child Secondary School, Araromi


There are no comments yet

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top