Ilorin & District Society of the Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (CITN) Honours KW-IRS

Like the old adage saying; ‘Give honour to whom it is due’ was enchanted by the President of the Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (CITN), Dr Olateju Somorin popularly known as ‘Teju Tax’ who with delight expressed her joy on the achievements recorded by the Kwara State Internal Revenue Service in 2016 turning around the revenue generation in the state as well as the model it has created in the country.

The CITN President made it known at the 2017 Annual Tax Awards & Dinner Night organized by Ilorin & District Society of the Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria (CITN) on April 6, 2017 in recognition of excellence in various categories that; KW-IRS has immeasurably supported the Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria since its inception, bringing more recognition to the Institute, mobilizing people to the certificate net of the Institute and so on. She further described Kwara State Internal Revenue Service as the epitome of revenue generating entity that the country can emulate and adopt for a better growth to drive the economy of the nation forward with Internally Generated Revenue.

Dr Olateju Somorin also said that, the remarkable achievements by KW-IRS can be attributed to the gaffer behind the initiative, the Executive Governor of Kwara State Alhaji (Dr.) Abdulfatah Ahmed as well as the sapient who is the captain to the ship of the revenue base in the State, Executive Chairman KW-IRS, Dr Muritala Awodun for transforming and salvaging the revenue base of the state that was earlier reduced to a low ebb and was remoulded to a model worthy of emulation. Recognising the Service that reflected the change and Individuals who through thick and thin actualised the vision cannot be overemphasised. In that light, Dr Abdulfatah Ahmed received the TAX PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR award and Dr Muritala Awodun received the TAX ADMINISTRATION OF THE YEAR award. The service also bagged a DISTRICT MERIT award.

Dr Awodun, who is known to all as the symbol of humility expressed his profound gratitude to the taxation institute for the honour as he dedicated his award to God for His infinite guidance and blessings over the Service, and also to the entire staff of KW-IRS for their commitment and teamwork which played a pivotal role in the 2016 achievements.

Other awardees who were honoured at the awards night included: Mallam Yusuf Olaolu Alli (SAN), Ghalib Chambers Ilorin (District Merit Award- Individual), Alhaji Ibrahim Olaiya, Chairman Olak Petroleum (2016 Outstanding Tax Compliant Award- Individual), Whitefield Hotel Limited & Ilorin Tobacco Company (ITC), Ilorin (2016 Outstanding Tax Compliant Award- Corporate Private Sector), Lubcon International Limited, KAM Group of Companies & Unifoam Nigeria Limited (District Merit Award- Corporate Private Sector), Kwara State Ministry of Works and Transport & Lower Niger River Basin Development Authority Ilorin (2016 Outstanding Tax Compliant Award- Corporate Public Sector) and National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), Kwara State (2016 Outstanding Tax Compliant Award- Informal Sector).


There are no comments yet

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top